Political Groups in the Seimas


Political Groups, Mixed and Interim Groups of the Seimas Members

1. Seimas Members may form political groups according to the procedure established by this Statute for implementing their political goals. This Statute shall establish the rights of the political groups of the Seimas members.

2. A political group of the Seimas Members shall be headed and represented in the Seimas by its Elder or Deputy Elder; each Seimas Member authorised by a political group may speak out on behalf of the political group.

3. The Seimas Members who have not been registered with political groups shall be con­sidered members of one mixed group of the Seimas Members. The mixed group of the Seimas Membersshall be granted all of the rights of a political group provided for in this Statute.

4. The Seimas Members may form interim groups pursuant to the procedure established by this Statute.

Statute of the Seimas, Article 26.

The 2004-2008 Seimas political groups:
Lithuanian Social Democratic Party Political Group
Homeland Union Political Group
Labour Party Political Group
Liberal and Centre Union Political Group
Liberals Movement Political Group
New Union (Social Liberals) Political Group
Non-affiliated Members’ Political Group
Peasants and People's Political Group
Order and Justice (Liberal Democrats) Political Group

 © Office of the Seimas, 2008