SEIMAS 2012-2016 


In October 2012, during the election to the 11th Seimas of the Republic of Lithuania, Lithuanian citizens entrusted the mandates of Members of Parliament to the representatives of the following political parties: Lithuanian Social Democratic Party (37 seats), Homeland Union - Lithuanian Christian Democrats (33 seats), Labour Party (29 seats), Party “Order and Justice” (11 seats), Liberals Movement of the Republic of Lithuania (10 seats), Lithuanian Poles’ Electoral Action (8 seats), Political Party “The Way of Courage” (7 seats), and Lithuanian Peasant and Greens Union (1 seat), as well as self-nominated candidates (3 seats).

After the election, the Lithuanian Social Democratic Party, Labour Party, Party “Order and Justice” and Lithuanian Poles’ Electoral Action informed about the Coalition Agreement on the Joint Work in the Name of Lithuania.

The oath of loyalty to the Republic of Lithuania was taken by 135 Members of the Seimas during the first sitting of the 11th Seimas. The Parliament resolved that the elected Members of the Seimas: Zigmantas Balčytis, Vilija Blinkevičiūtė, Zdislavas Palevičius and Valdemaras Tomaševskis, failed to take the oath in the manner prescribed by law and therefore lost their mandate of a Member of the Seimas. The vacant seats in the Seimas will be filled as established by the Law on Elections to the Seimas. The Central Electoral Commission has announced that two electoral constituencies (Biržų–Kupiškio and Zarasų–Visagino) will hold re-run elections on 3 March 2013.


During its first sitting on 16 November 2012, the new Seimas elected Vydas Gedvilas, Labour Party representative, as Speaker of the Seimas. Since 3 October 2013, the Seimas has been led by Loreta Graužinienė, Labour Party representative.


The Board of the Seimas consists of the Speaker of the Seimas, Loreta Graužinienė; the First Deputy Speaker, Vydas Gedvilas; Deputy Speakers Petras Auštrevičius, Irena Degutienė, Gediminas Kirkilas, Kęstas Komskis, Jaroslav Narkevič and Algirdas Sysas; and the leader of the Opposition of the Seimas, Andrius Kubilius.


The political groups established in the 11th Seimas are the following: Lithuanian Social Democratic Party Political Group, Homeland Union - Lithuanian Christian Democrat Political Group, Labour Party Political Group, Order and Justice Political Group, Liberals Movement Political Group, Political Group “The Way of Courage” and the Political Group of Non-affiliated Members of the Seimas (which includes the representatives of the Lithuanian Poles’ Electoral Action and Lithuanian Peasant and Greens Union, as well as self-nominated Members of the Seimas).


Members of the Seimas of the Republic of Lithuania are elected for a four-year term in seventy-one single-member constituencies and one multi-member constituency on the basis of universal and equal suffrage, by secret ballot in direct, mixed-system elections.

Regular elections to the Seimas are held on the year of the expiration of the powers of the Seimas members, on the second Sunday in October. 141 members of the Seimas are elected: 71 – in single-member constituencies and 70 – in the multi-member constituency (The Central Electoral Commission of the Republic of Lithuania).

© Office of the Seimas