



PROGRAM

2021 March 22

Parliament of the Republic of Lithuania, Constitution Hall

Monday, 22 March 2020

9:30 REGISTRATION

10:00 OPENING OF THE CONFERENCE

(Venue: Constitution Hall, Seimas of the Republic of Lithuania, Gedimino pr. 53)

WELCOME

H.E. Ms Viktorija Čmilytė-Nielsen

Speaker of the Seimas of the Republic of Lithuania (in-person)

H.E. Ms Ingrida Šimonytė

Prime Minister of the Republic of Lithuania (in-person)

Ms Sviatlana Tsikhanouskaya

Leader of democratic Belarus (in-person)

H.E. Mr Vytautas Landsbergis

President of the Supreme Council – Reconstituent Seimas (in-person)

Moderator

Mr Žygimantas Pavilionis

Chair of Seimas Committee on Foreign Affairs, Chair of Seimas Group "For a Democratic Belarus"

10:30 REFLECTIONS ON SUPPORTING BELARUSIAN FREEDOM: WHAT HAVE WE ACCOMPLISHED SO FAR?

KEYNOTE

Mr David McAllister

Chair of the Committee on Foreign Affairs, European Parliament (online)

SPEAKERS

Mr Uladzimir Niakliaeu

Coordinator of the Belarusian National Congress (in-person)

Mr Anatol Liabedzka

CEO of the European Dialogue Center (in-person)

Mr Ales Beliatski

Belarusian Civic Leader, Founder of the Human Rights Centre "Viasna" (in-person)

Mr Vytis Jurkonis

Director of Freedom House in Lithuania (in-person)

11:30 COMMENTS

Mr Rihards Kols

Chairman of the Foreign Affairs Committee, Latvian Saeima (online)

Mr Marko Mihkelson

Chairman of the Foreign Affairs Committee, Estonian Riigikogu (online)

Mr Marek Kuchciński

Chair of the Foreign Affairs Committee, Polish Sejm (online)

Mr Pavel Fischer

Chair of the Committee on Foreign Affairs,
Defence and Security of the Parliament of the Czech Republic (online)

Moderator

Dr Margarita Šešelgytė

Director of the Institute of International Relations and Political Science, Vilnius University

12:00 DISCUSSION

12:30 LUNCH

13:30 WHAT'S THE PLAN: FREE AND DEMOCRATIC ELECTIONS IN 2021?

KEYNOTE

H.E. Josep Borrell

Vice-President of the European Commission, High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy (video address)

H.E. Peter Lord Bowness

President of the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly (online)

SPEAKERS

Mr Matthias Lüttenberg

Head of Division Bilateral Relations with the States of Central, Eastern and South-Eastern Europe, Central Asia and Southern Caucasus of the German Federal Chancellery (online)

Mr Pierre Vimont

Former Executive Secretary-General of the European External Action Service (EEAS),

Senior Fellow at Carnegie Europe (online)

Mr Tom Tugendhat

Chair of the Foreign Affairs Committee, UK House of Commons (online)

Ms Julie Fisher

U.S. Ambassador to Belarus (online)

Ambassador of the European Union to Belarus (online)

Mr Kenneth G Forslund

Chair of the Committee on Foreign Affairs, Swedish Riksdag (online)

Mr Michael Gahler

Member of the European Parliament, EPP Group (online)

Mr Žygimantas Pavilionis

Chair of Seimas Committee on Foreign Affairs and Seimas Group "For a Democratic Belarus" (in-person)

Mr Michał Tomasz Kamiński

Deputy Marshal of the Senate of the Republic of Poland (in-person)

Mr Franak Viacorka

Senior Advisor to Sviatlana Tsikhanouskaya (in-person)

Mr Oleksii Goncharenko

Member of the Ukrainian Verkhovna Rada, Head of the All-Party Parliamentary Group "For a Democratic Belarus" (in-person)

Moderator

Mr Petras Auštrevičius

Member of the European Parliament, EP Special Rapporteur on Belarus

15:00 DISCUSSION

15:30 COFFEE BREAK & PRESS CONFERENCE

16:00 SUMMIT OF DEMOCRACIES: BELARUS AND EASTERN EUROPE IN FOCUS

KEYNOTE

Mr George P. Kent

Deputy Assistant Secretary, Bureau of European and Eurasian Affairs, U.S. Department of State (online)

SPEAKERS

Mr Robert Menendez

U.S. Senator, Ranking Member of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee (video address)

Mr Chris Smith

Congressman, Senior Member of the House Foreign Affairs Committee (video address)

Dr Michael Carpenter

Managing Director of the Penn Biden Center for Diplomacy and Global Engagement,

Senior Fellow at the Atlantic Council (online)

Ms Anna Fotyga

Member of the European Parliament, ECR Group, Member of the NATO Reflection Group, Former Foreign Minister of Poland (online)

Mr Sven Spengemann

Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Development, Canadian House of Commons (online)

Mr Mantas Adomėnas

Vice-Minister of the Republic of Lithuania (in-person)

Mr Marcin Przydacz

Under Secretary of State for Security, the Americas, Asia and Eastern Policy, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Poland (online)

Mr Carl Gershman

President of the National Endowment for Democracy (online)

Mr Stephen Nix

Eurasia Director, International Republican Institute (online)

Mr David Kramer

Senior Fellow, Florida International University, Former U.S. Assistant Secretary of State for Democracy, Human Rights and Labour (online)

Mr Jamie Fly

President of Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty (online)

Mr Vladimir Kara-Murza

Member of Russian Opposition, Chairman of the Boris Nemtsov Foundation and Vice President of the Free Russia Foundation (in-person)

Mr Emanuelis Zingeris

Member of Seimas Committee on Foreign Affairs, Signatory of Lithuanian Independence (in-person)

Moderator

Mr Žygimantas Pavilionis

Chair of Seimas Committee on Foreign Affairs, Chair of Seimas Group "For a Democratic Belarus"

17:00 DISCUSSION

17:30 CONCLUDING REMARKS

Mr Žygimantas Pavilionis

Chair of Seimas Committee on Foreign Affairs and Seimas Group "For a Democratic Belarus"

