

SEIMAS OF THE REPUBLIC OF LITHUANIA COMMITTEE ON FOREIGN AFFAIRS

STATEMENT

ON THE 33RD ANNIVERSARY OF THE TIANANMEN SQUARE MASSACRE AND THE RIGHTS AND FREEDOMS OF THE PEOPLE OF HONG KONG

8 June 2022 Vilnius

The Committee on Foreign Affairs of the Seimas of the Republic of Lithuania,

noting that on 4 June 1989, the troops of the People's Liberation Army of the People's Republic of China used force and violence against peaceful pro-democracy activists assembled in Beijing's Tiananmen Square, concealing the exact number of fatalities during the event, which ranges from several hundreds to several thousands in different sources, with several thousand others having been injured,

stressing that Hong Kong has long been an example of a vibrant and free society in East Asia and that the international community has a strong interest in Hong Kong's stability and prosperity,

condemning all actions that undermine the legitimacy of Hong Kong's elections,

building on the Charter of the United Nations and the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, which establishes the right to life, liberty and security of person and freedom of expression and stresses that no one shall be subjected to torture or to cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment,

having regard to the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, signed in 1966 by the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, in which the government undertakes to uphold the right of peaceful assembly, the right to freedom of association with others and the protection of human rights and which stipulates that a person shall not be subject to arbitrary arrest or detention,

responding to the arrest of four persons on 6 May 2021, including activist Joshua Wong, sentenced to 4 months' imprisonment for having organised an allegedly unauthorised gathering in connection with the vigil in Hong Kong on 4 June 2020, and eight other persons, including Jimmy Lai and Chow Hang-tung, sentenced to 14 months' and 22 months' imprisonment respectively for having taken part in the vigil in question,

noting that John Lee was appointed Chief Executive of Hong Kong in a so-called election in which less than 0.2 % of Hong Kong's residents took part, voting only in a strictly controlled electoral committee composed of 1 416 persons, of whom John Lee had been nominated as the only candidate,

stressing that on 27 May 2021, the so-called Hong Kong electoral reform laws were passed, allowing opposition candidates to be vetted and barred from standing for election and drastically reducing the number of directly elected seats in the Legislative Council of Hong Kong; furthermore, these laws directly contradict the Chinese Government's international obligations under the principles of the legally binding Sino-British Joint Declaration, registered at the United Nations, and undermine the 'One Country, Two Systems' policy enshrined in the Declaration,

calls on the Government of the People's Republic of China to release all political prisoners in Hong Kong, including those convicted for their participation in the 4 June 2020 vigil, in accordance with the 'One Country, Two Systems' policy;

deplores the anti-democratic electoral reforms which facilitated the appointment of John Lee as leader of Hong Kong and **refuses** to recognise his election as a legitimate democratic process;

calls on the European Union to urgently apply the EU Global Human Rights Sanctions Regime, under which sanctions would be imposed on the Chinese and Hong Kong government officials responsible for human rights violations and violations of international law in Hong Kong;

calls on the European Commission and the Member States of the European Union to continue to screen and restrict the export of dual-use items to Hong Kong, including the items that may be used to further the surveillance and persecution of and repressions against Hong Kong's residents;

invites the Government of the Republic of Lithuania to create a procedure for facilitating access to political asylum for Hong Kong's political dissidents on the basis of the Conclusions of the European Council of 13 July 2020 on Hong Kong.

Chair of the Committee

Laima Liucija Andrikienė