We, the Chairs of Foreign Affairs Committees of our respective national parliaments, condemn the surge in hate and violence plaguing our nations and the world since Hamas' horrific attack against Israel on October 7.

We are witnessing an alarming rise in antisemitic and anti-Muslim bigotry and violence that has included acts of online hate, verbal assaults, vandalism, desecration of Holocaust memorials and cemeteries, intimidation, death threats, and physical attacks.

Antisemitic hate crime investigations have tripled in New York and London over the past month in comparison to last year. In France, the Interior Ministry documented 1,040 antisemitic incidents in the month following the October 7 attack. Jewish and Muslim community organizations have reported even more incidents throughout our countries.

In the United States, six-year-old Wadea Al-Fayoume was brutally murdered because he was Palestinian, while Paul Kessler, a Jewish man, died following an altercation at a pro-Israel rally in California. A synagogue in Germany was firebombed. In Russia, an antisemitic mob stormed an airport in Dagestan and demanded Jewish passengers identify themselves. Jewish and Muslim individuals that are easily identified have been disproportionately targeted.

We are proud to represent diverse constituencies in vibrant democracies. None of this is acceptable. As stated by the European Commission, "No one should live in fear of discrimination or violence because of their religion or their identity." We urge our governments to intensify all efforts to safeguard Jewish and Muslim communities, to condemn these actions when they occur, and to implement our national strategies to combat the dark tide of bigotry and hatred.

The statement was issued by:

Senator Ben Cardin Chairman of the Foreign Relations Committee United States Senate

Boyko Borisov Chairman of the Foreign Affairs Committee National Assembly of the Republic of Bulgaria

Éléonore Caroit Deputy Chair of the French Foreign Affairs Committee The National Assembly of the French Republic

Mark Demesmaeker Chair of the Committee on Transversal Affairs The Senate of the Kingdom of Belgium

Aron Emilsson Chairman of the Foreign Affairs Committee

The Riksdag of the Kingdom of Sweden

Charles Flanagan Chairman of the Committee on Foreign Affairs and Defense The Dáil Éireann of the Republic of Ireland

Doina Gherman

Chairwoman of the Foreign Affairs and European Integration Committee The Parliament of the Republic of Moldova

Domagoj Hajduković Chairman of the European Affairs Committee The Parliament of the Republic of Croatia

Pablo Hispan Member of the Congress of Deputies Kingdom of Spain

Michael Aastrup Jensen Chairman of the Foreign Affairs Committee The Folketing of the Kingdom of Denmark

Alicia Kearns Chairwoman of the Foreign Affairs Committee House of Commons of the United Kingdom

Sargis Khandanyan Chairman of the Foreign Relations Committee National Assembly of the Republic of Armenia

Rihards Kols Chairman of the Foreign Affairs Committee The Saeima of the Republic of Latvia

Christoph Matznetter Chairman of the Foreign Affairs Committee National Council of the Republic of Austria

David McAllister Chairman of the Foreign Affairs Committee The European Parliament

Oleksandr Merezhko Chairman of the Foreign Affairs Committee

The Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine

Marko Mihkelson Chairman of the Foreign Affairs Committee The Riigikogu of the Republic of Estonia

Zsolt Németh Chairman of the Foreign Affairs Committee The National Assembly of Hungary

Žygimantas Pavilionis Chairman of the Foreign Affairs Committee The Seimas of the Republic of Lithuania

Christine Schwartz-Fuchs Chairwoman of the Foreign Affairs Committee The Federal Council of the Republic of Austria

Ine Eriksen Søreide Chairwoman of the Foreign Affairs Committee The Storting of the Kingdom of Norway

Giulio Terzi di Sant'Agata Chairman of the European Affairs Committee The Senate of the Italian Republic

Marek Ženíšek Chairman of the Foreign Affairs Committee The Chamber of Deputies of Czechia