Necessary cookies


Statistics cookies


For disabled
Members of the Seimas

Speaker of the Seimas: solidarity of the Nordic and Baltic states is crucial for maintaining transatlantic unity

Press release, 22 August 2017


On 21–23 August 2017, Viktoras Pranckietis, Speaker of the Seimas, had a working visit in Lillehammer, Norway, where he participated the Conference of Speakers of the Nordic–Baltic Parliaments (NB8).



The Speakers of Parliaments discussed the challenges facing the region such as terrorism, energy and cyber security, and fight against propaganda. At the discussion on the Eastern Partnership countries, Viktoras Pranckietis presented the situation in Ukraine.


“What is happening in Ukraine is not merely regular exchanges of gunfire. This translates into thousands of deaths and injuries, a large-scale humanitarian disaster with millions of refugees and displaced people, and massive violations of human rights. We should not allow European countries to accept the current situation and wait until it leads to yet another frozen conflict,” said Mr Pranckietis.


As regards greater energy security, the Speaker of the Seimas stressed that investment in energy and transport infrastructure positively contributed to the energy security of both Lithuania and the entire region, as well as to the economic resilience and competitiveness of the Baltic States.


“The Klaipėda LNG terminal has welcomed the first LNG tanker Clean Ocean from the United States of America, which marks a new stage in the development of an energy market of the Baltic Sea Region,” said Mr Pranckietis.



The NB8 consists of eight Nordic and Baltic states – Finland, Sweden, Denmark, Norway, Iceland, Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania – which have cooperated at various sectoral and political levels on a regular basis since 1992. The Conference of Speakers of Parliaments is an annual event held in August.


Justina Jurevičiūtė, Adviser to the Speaker of the Seimas, tel. +370 5 239 6002, e-mail: [email protected]

   Last updated on 09/05/2017 14:40
   Jolanta Anskaitienė