Necessary cookies


Statistics cookies


For disabled
Committee for the Future

Short presentation about the Committee

Seimas (Parliament) of the Republic of Lithuania 2020-2024 has established a new Committee for the Future (CFF) on 23 December 2020. Professor Raimundas Lopata, a representative of the Liberals Movement Political Group, has been elected as a chairman of the Committee for the Future. Lukas Savickas, a representative of the Lithuanian Farmers and Greens Union Political Group, and Matas Maldeikis, a representative of the Homeland Union-Lithuanian Christian Democrat Political Group, have been elected as deputy chairs.


Article 442 of the Statute of the Seimas provides that the composition of the CFF shall be based on the principle of proportional representation of the Seimas political groups. The Committee now has 19 members of the Seimas, representing all parliamentary political groups.


Article 581 of the Statute of the Seimas provides for eight areas of activity of the Committee for the Future. They aim at coordination of the process of preparation of Lithuania's long-term vision as well as implementation control of long-term progress strategies. Within the remit of the committee - to prepare and discuss modelling of the future development of society and the state, development of innovations and technological progress, emigration and re-emigration processes and their impact on the development of society, draft laws and other legal acts regulating state modernization and strategic reforms, submit and discuss proposals on these issues.


The idea to establish the CFF stemmed from the need to shape a political/strategic culture of thinking about the future of Lithuania, forming the established strategic forecasting of Lithuanian policy, which would be the basis for policy areas and key initiatives in all areas, including the integration of strategic foresight into the political decision-making process.

       Last updated on 05/02/2022 09:38
       Giedrė Mickienė