Necessary cookies


Statistics cookies


For disabled
Members of the Seimas

Statement by Laurynas Kasčiūnas, Member of the Seimas: ‘The Intermarium Caucus was established in the Parliament of Lithuania‘

Press release, 15 June 2023


The provisional group "Intermarium Caucus" was established in the Parliament of Lithuania and consists of 11 parliamentarians. Chairman of this group – Laurynas Kasčiūnas, and Jonas Jarutis has been appointed as the Deputy Chairman of the group.


The first such group was established in 2020, Ukraine. This group was created in order to support at the state level the respective geopolitical provision developed by the non-governmental organization "Intermarium Support Group" founded in 2016 under the auspices of Azov veternas and is coordinated by Olena Semenyaka, assistant of MP Sviatoslav Yurash. The geopolitical provision is based on the strong strengthening of the connection between Central and Eastern Europe and the principles of pan-Europeanism, anti-chauvinism and solidarity anti-totalitarian historical memory policy.


The goal of the Intermarium groups is to create a regional inter-parliamentary institution, similar to the Crimea Platform, which will prepare a regional security strategy and coordinate initiatives to counter Russian aggression at the legal and informational levels. This includes strengthening defense cooperation, developing information campaigns by creating a common information space and consolidating the region geopolitically, strengthening the energy security of the region and, of course, increasing support for Ukraine - supporting Ukraine's admission to the Three Seas Initiative, organizing visits to Ukraine, etc.


Such groups have also already been established in Estonia, and there are plans to  officially establish such a group in Poland soon.


Prepared by:

Emilė Balodytė

[email protected]

   Last updated on 06/15/2023 11:01
   Monika Kutkaitytė